Imo Assembly Again Screens, Confirms 4 Commissioner Nominees

The Imo State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed four commissioner nominees.

The nominees present for the session were former commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. Mrs Ruby Emele; former commissioner for Finance, Hon Okoro Chukwuemeka; former lawmaker of Owerri Federal Constituency, Hon. Ikenna Elezieanya, and former Attorney-General of the State, C.O.C Akaolisa.

They were ushered into the chamber when the motion was moved by the majority leader of the House, Rt. Hon. Kanayo Onyemaechi, and seconded by the minority leader, Hon. Princewill Ugochukwu Amuchie.

Hon. Mrs Ruby Emele from Isiala Mbano local government area, who was the first to be called up was asked to take a bow, and assume her seat after the lawmaker representing her LGA in the House, Hon. Sam Osuji introduced her as a woman of integrity, and sagacity who has not just diligently served the state, but has been a blessing to the LGA.

This motion of the lsiala Mbano legislator was reiterated and supported by the deputy speaker of the House, which led to the speaker, Rt. Hon. Chike Olemgbe, putting it to vote, and it scaled through.

The second person was, Mr Chukwuemeka from Isiala Mbano LGA, who after being introduced by the Isiala Mbano representative, was questioned by the Oru West legislator, Rt. Hon. Dominic Ezerioha.

After answering the questions, he was asked to take his seat.

Hon. Engr. Ikenna Elezieanya, from Owerri West LGA, being the third nominee was also asked to take a bow when the majority leader, and Owerri West lawmaker said that aside from his being a man of integrity that he, Elezieanya, was a former member of the House, and so should be accorded such honour.

Chief Barr. C.O.C Akaolisa from Orsu LGA, was also asked to take a bow when the lawmaker representing the LGA, Rt. Hon. Engr. Francis Agabige after describing him as a leader par excellence, moved for him to be allowed to do so.

The speaker put it to vote after the majority leader of the House seconded it, and he was confirmed.

All the nominees were declared confirmed after the speaker sort the opinion of the members.


It would be recalled that the House earlier confirmed 12 Commissioner Nominees on March 7, 2024, and yesterday confirmed extra four, making it a total of 16 commissioner nominees.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Whatsapp Group For More News. CLICK HERE..