Two Guber Candidates, Idahosa, Okpebholo Emerge In Edo APC Primary

There was confusion in Benin City yesterday as the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary produced two governorship candidates,  amid disruption and violent attacks by political thugs.

The Governor Hope Uzodinma-led primary committee had announced Hon. Dennis Idahosa as winner of the primary, having polled 40, 453 votes to defeat the other aspirants.

Uzodinma announced, “Of the 12 aspirants that contested this primary, Clem Agba scored 100 votes, Monday Okpebholo 100 votes, Hon Dekeri Anamero, 230 votes, Pastor Osagie Ize Iyamu, 2 votes, Gideon Ikhine 700 votes , David Imuse, 400 votes, Charles Airhiavbere 162 votes, Osariemen Osunbor, 180, Blessing Agbomhere,  50 votes , Dennis Idahosa, 40, 453 votes , Ernest Afolabi 2 votes  and Lucky Imansuen 2 votes.”

Uzodinma said Idahosa, having polled the highest number of votes, had been declared the winner.

He said earlier in the day, there was misinformation on the venue of the primary, adding that the Protea Hotel venue was the right secretariat for announcement of results.

Similarly, officials of the National Working Committee appointed as returning officers from Abuja, had relocated from the initial venue where the announcement was ongoing before they were violently attacked.

The NWC committee led by Dr Stanley Ugboajah had declared Sen. Monday Okpebholo winner and thereby announced him as the candidate of the party in the September 21 governorship election.

The state’s chief electoral officers said; “Dr Blessing Agbomhere scored 834, Charles Airhvbere scored 919, Osareime Osunbor 688, David Imuse, 507, Monday Okpebolo, 12, 145 votes, Dennis Idahosa, 5, 536, Ernest Afolabi, 2,090, Gidoen, 902, Ize-Iyamu, 383, Anamero Dekeri, 1625, Lucky Imansue, 503.

This is to certify that Monday Okpebholo has scored the highest votes, and declared winner of the APC governorship primary and thereby declared the candidate of the party.

Meanwhile, the state publicity secretary of the party, Peter Igbinigie, said the Dr Stanley Ugboajah-led committee sent to the state was the one recognised by law as the returning officers, adding that Governor Hope Uzodinma does not have the power to return any aspirant as elected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *